Gone Too Soon!

Suicide Prevention

I was very saddened to learn about the apparent suicide of comedian and actor Robin Williams yesterday in California.

It’s a tragedy anytime any human being takes their own life, rather than ask for help with whatever particular problem they are going through at the time.

Williams was reportedly suffering from depression for quite a while, and the fact that he was an alcoholic and addict in long-term recovery, really caused this news to hit home for me.

His suicide just goes to show that neither fame nor fortune guarantee happiness.

In the grand scheme of things, no amount of money or material possessions mean a damn thing if you aren’t content with who you are deep down as a person.

While it is unfortunately true that when a “celebrity” dies of either an overdose or suicide as a result of depression, the world takes notice, the fact of the matter is that hundreds – if not thousands – of “regular” people are dying this way every single day.

Please seek help if you are suffering from any disease or problem that is currently holding back your growth and happiness, and know that there are so many people out there willing to help.

Celebrities, singers, and athletes will always have their “yes” men and women surrounding them to say how great and talented they are, but in the end, each and every single one of us as human beings go to bed at night with our own specific insecurities.

In fact, those so-called “yes” men and women are likely, although unintentionally, doing more hard than good by allowing this to go on.

So, whether you are known by millions throughout the world or just the people on your particular block, please realize you are never alone in your daily battles in life.

Call, write, or seek help any way you can if you aren’t feeling good about yourself.

Never keep things bottled up.

There ARE people who care and want to help.

About gman18

I came into the world on October 18, 1961. John F. Kennedy was President of the United States. The film West Side Story was released, and would go on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards. Major League Baseball was celebrating Roger Maris of the New York Yankees, who hit a then-record 61 home runs that season. I was an excellent student, although a bit of a class clown too. I spent a majority of my time playing sports, but fell in love with newspapers, which was how I was initially introduced into writing and storytelling. While attending Kingsborough Community College from 1979-1981, I served as editor-in-chief of the school's paper, and then joined the staff at Long Island University's Seawanhaka for my junior and senior years. At L.I.U. where I earned my Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism in 1983, I was also a selected member of Sigma Delta Chi, as well as Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges. My last year in college included an unpaid internship at WCBS-TV, Channel 2 in New York City, where I learned so much about the television business. Upon graduation, I landed a job at the network, starting as a news clerk for The CBS Morning News with Diane Sawyer, and also weekend shifts for The NFL Today with Brent Musburger. After quickly rising in the ranks to producer, my life suddenly went on a downward spiral due to addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling, which ultimately led to nearly six years behind bars for robbery. My time incarcerated gave birth to my first published book, Jew in Jail, which tells my true story of how I finally decided to deal with my addictions and turn my life around, all the while under the toughest conditions imaginable of being a minority in the prison system, forced to fend for myself. Writing Jew in Jail - as I was doing my time - allowed me to become very introspective, and realize that I could help others in similar situations of being an addict and/or living with low self-esteem. Today, I still reside in my hometown of Brooklyn, New York, where I am working on my next book project, continuing to promote Jew in Jail, and always helping other addicts through my motivational and inspirational speeches, and one-on-one consultations.
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gone Too Soon!

  1. You know, I don’t know about you, but I’m growing very weary of all the precious life being taken to SUICIDE!! I just lost a book client, this past Friday! She was a WordPress blogger, writer, new author, a mother, daughter, wife…. her blog was http://welding81.wordpress.com

    Her book had only come out this March, and I was helping her promote it. She lost her 23 year old daughter to Suicide in April 2013. Her book is about her experience. Her daughter had severe depression. It scares me as this hits to close to home with my own 2 failed attempts in 2002 & 2006. WHY her and not me? What makes me any more different from her? And sadly, she took her life too. She was only 54. Is this what I have to look forward too because I live with Bipolar II manic depression? Sometimes I just don’t understand trauma like this ….

    Robin Williams is the same. They say it was the medications they had started him on for early Parkinson’s disease that he had a severe reaction with his anti-depressants that made him more depressed. Just so sad.
    *Catherine*

  2. gman18 says:

    Catherine, some things in life just don’t make any sense.

    However, I do know one thing that does, and that is that you are still here for a reason.

    You continue to grow as a person and role model, and are needed by other recovering addicts and anyone living with depression, to show them that there is a better way to live.

    I feel that what you have experienced in life has made you a very strong women, and you actually have an obligation to pass your wisdom onto others, which you do on a daily basis.

    Simply put, I am not only extremely proud of you, but also fortunate to have you as a friend!

Leave a Reply

