A Great Life Is Always Within Your Reach!

Living A Great Life
I know it’s human nature to sometimes feel like you are living in a rut, so whenever that does happen to you – and I sincerely hope it is infrequent – I want to offer several things you can try in order to “escape!”

First of all, take a good, hard look at yourself in the mirror, and realize that, to get to this current point in your life, you are already amazing, and full of unlimited possibilities.

Then, go for a walk, and just take notice of all of the beautiful things around you, like the warm sunshine, children playing without a care in the world, birds chirping, and your environment in general.

Next, make a list of all of the things you have already accomplished in life, and one that contains those that you still wish to get done.

Call it a bucket list, if you want, but make sure you think this through first, and include everything you always dreamed of since you were a child.

The point here is to realize that you are capable of doing anything you put your mind to, and if that includes something that has been on the back burner for years as a result of one reason or another, it is never too late to accomplish it.

I have learned through trial and error, and from experience, that if one is not happy in the activities that occupies his or her time, then it leaves a feeling of unfulfillment that cannot be counteracted by money, or other material things, such as cars, homes, jewelry, etc.

Simply put, happiness comes from within, so make sure you spend some time on introspection to find out what you true passion is.

You might also attempt something new – even if it is way out of line with your personality and comfort zone.

Hopefully, you will discover it to be totally enjoyable, and the start of more good things to come.

So, instead of waking up one day regretful over missed opportunities or chances never taken, make sure you leave no stone unturned in your quest for complete satisfaction in life.

Until next time, everyone, always reach for the moon, because, even if you miss, you will be among the stars!

About gman18

I came into the world on October 18, 1961. John F. Kennedy was President of the United States. The film West Side Story was released, and would go on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards. Major League Baseball was celebrating Roger Maris of the New York Yankees, who hit a then-record 61 home runs that season. I was an excellent student, although a bit of a class clown too. I spent a majority of my time playing sports, but fell in love with newspapers, which was how I was initially introduced into writing and storytelling. While attending Kingsborough Community College from 1979-1981, I served as editor-in-chief of the school's paper, and then joined the staff at Long Island University's Seawanhaka for my junior and senior years. At L.I.U. where I earned my Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism in 1983, I was also a selected member of Sigma Delta Chi, as well as Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges. My last year in college included an unpaid internship at WCBS-TV, Channel 2 in New York City, where I learned so much about the television business. Upon graduation, I landed a job at the network, starting as a news clerk for The CBS Morning News with Diane Sawyer, and also weekend shifts for The NFL Today with Brent Musburger. After quickly rising in the ranks to producer, my life suddenly went on a downward spiral due to addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling, which ultimately led to nearly six years behind bars for robbery. My time incarcerated gave birth to my first published book, Jew in Jail, which tells my true story of how I finally decided to deal with my addictions and turn my life around, all the while under the toughest conditions imaginable of being a minority in the prison system, forced to fend for myself. Writing Jew in Jail - as I was doing my time - allowed me to become very introspective, and realize that I could help others in similar situations of being an addict and/or living with low self-esteem. Today, I still reside in my hometown of Brooklyn, New York, where I am working on my next book project, continuing to promote Jew in Jail, and always helping other addicts through my motivational and inspirational speeches, and one-on-one consultations.
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Great Life Is Always Within Your Reach!

  1. Very well put! I just love a bit of positivity and motivation, thank you.

  2. Jane Risdon says:

    What you say is so true. Taking pleasure in the world around and realising we can change our own destiny is important. Positive thinking and attitude is a must. Enjoyed this now end, as usual. Thanks and enjoy your day ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. gman18 says:

    Thank you so much, Jane.

    I see you are definitely in tune with what is really important in life!

    Keeping a positive attitude is good for both our physical and spiritual well-being.

    Thanks again, and have an amazing day!

  4. Jane Risdon says:

    I am so pleased to have met you here. Your story is inspirational and should give hope to many others who find their lives taking a downward spiral. but, what goes down must come up. We all have plenty of ups and downs, and whilst I have not fallen into the same pit as yourself, my life has taken many twists and turns, some worse than others, but I have always believed that things will only get better. I do hope they continue to improve for you and that ultimately you will come out on top. Thanks for liking my Flash Fiction piece, Revenge. I enjoy Flash Fiction as it makes me think about getting a story across in as few words as possible – which means the use of words is important and it is a great way to hone your vocabulary too. I do hope you will continue to read my work – lots of samples on my blog and in various anthologies. My own novels are still WIP – but I hope that at least two will be published in 2014. Have a wonderful day and a great 2014 if I don’t manage to chat to you again before then. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. gman18 says:

    Jane, thank you so very much for your terrific and positive feedback. I, too, am extremely happy that we met on here, and continue to remain humble when great writers and people such as yourself compliment me on my work. I thoroughly enjoy following your blog and reading everything you write as well, since I find you to be very skillful at what you do! I wish you nothing but the best in 2014, and am sure that continued success is what is in store for you!

Leave a Reply

