Do You Have The “Write” Stuff?

Writing3One thing I always make sure to tell my audience, when I am delivering a motivational & inspirational speech in order to increase their self-esteem and self-confidence, is that each and every single person can express their feelings by writing.

All it takes is a pen, piece of paper, and one’s imagination and innermost thoughts.

Actually, in this internet age, the pen and paper aren’t even necessary anymore, so it makes this “task” even easier!

For me, writing “Jew in Jail” (out by hand, incidentally) while serving my sentence in prison was incredibly therapeutic, at a time in my life when I was so down on myself for the situation I created.

It afforded me the opportunity to become introspective and reveal to myself why I had been acting out and behaving the way I was for so long, as well as figure out what caused my addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling in the first place, which led to my arrest and incarceration for robbery.

Since returning home a free man in 2004, I have been busy promoting “Jew in Jail,” speaking at drug treatment programs, hospital detoxes, jails, schools, and anywhere else people need to hear an uplifting story of redemption.

The one constant I continuously maintain when I speak is the importance for humans to release their feelings, which, for me, is best served through writing.

Writing is one activity that doesn’t punch a time clock, allows the participant to be his or her own boss, costs nothing but time, and has the potential to affect so many people’s lives in a positive way.

While I am not knocking good old fashioned conversation, I feel writing has one major advantage that the former doesn’t, which is the ability to go back days, weeks, months, or even years later and reread what has been written to chart one’s progress and discover if anything beneficial became of putting those aforementioned thoughts down on paper or computer screen.

Writing is also very personal, so whether you call it a diary, journal, or anything else, give it a try.

Your brain is chock full of thoughts, feelings, emotions and ideas, many of which you might not even realize you have, unless you sit down and unleash them one word at a time.

I’m sure you possess the “write” stuff inside of you, waiting to come out, so don’t delay.

Your skills and talents need to be showcased at once.

Plus, who knows – you just may have the next best seller at your fingertips!

About gman18

I came into the world on October 18, 1961. John F. Kennedy was President of the United States. The film West Side Story was released, and would go on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards. Major League Baseball was celebrating Roger Maris of the New York Yankees, who hit a then-record 61 home runs that season. I was an excellent student, although a bit of a class clown too. I spent a majority of my time playing sports, but fell in love with newspapers, which was how I was initially introduced into writing and storytelling. While attending Kingsborough Community College from 1979-1981, I served as editor-in-chief of the school's paper, and then joined the staff at Long Island University's Seawanhaka for my junior and senior years. At L.I.U. where I earned my Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism in 1983, I was also a selected member of Sigma Delta Chi, as well as Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges. My last year in college included an unpaid internship at WCBS-TV, Channel 2 in New York City, where I learned so much about the television business. Upon graduation, I landed a job at the network, starting as a news clerk for The CBS Morning News with Diane Sawyer, and also weekend shifts for The NFL Today with Brent Musburger. After quickly rising in the ranks to producer, my life suddenly went on a downward spiral due to addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling, which ultimately led to nearly six years behind bars for robbery. My time incarcerated gave birth to my first published book, Jew in Jail, which tells my true story of how I finally decided to deal with my addictions and turn my life around, all the while under the toughest conditions imaginable of being a minority in the prison system, forced to fend for myself. Writing Jew in Jail - as I was doing my time - allowed me to become very introspective, and realize that I could help others in similar situations of being an addict and/or living with low self-esteem. Today, I still reside in my hometown of Brooklyn, New York, where I am working on my next book project, continuing to promote Jew in Jail, and always helping other addicts through my motivational and inspirational speeches, and one-on-one consultations.
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Do You Have The “Write” Stuff?

  1. VERY TRUE INDEED Gary! Great Post…..THIS deserves a REBLOGG my friend!! We may live life in recovery, but we are More then capable of finding our Passions in Life…….and for you, and myself, that’s in Writing! SEE…..it is true that there is Always a Blessing found in Trials in Life!! Thanks for another Great Blog Post! Hugs & Blessings, Catherine ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • gman18 says:

      Thank you so much, Catherine. It’s always so great to receive such positive feedback from someone of your stature, who has not only walked the walk in recovery, but is also now talking the talk as well!

  2. Reblogged this on *Recovery Blog~Author Catherine Lyon* and commented:
    My GOOD friend & author, “Gary Goldstein” Author of “Jew In Jail” is write on the Money with his Blog Post Today! We both live Life in Recovery, but through those Trials of addiction, we found our Passion as Writers!! *Author, Catherine Townsend-Lyon

  3. gman18 says:

    Well, thanks, and I appreciate that very much.

    It takes one to know one!

    Gary

  4. I love what you wrote here:

    “Writing is one activity that doesn’t punch a time clock, allows the participant to be his or her own boss, costs nothing but time, and has the potential to affect so many peopleโ€™s lives in a positive way.”

    It is so true, that writing has the ability to change lives, and in your case; it’s a super positive one! Writing allows us the good fortune of truly being the captain of our own ship and if we produce something that can bring others out of the darkness — even better!

    • gman18 says:

      Hello Cassie.

      Thank you so much for your great feedback!

      I couldn’t have put it better myself, and you are absolutely correct when you state how writing has the ability to help others and bring them out of their darkness.

      Thanks again, and have an amazing day.

      Gary

  5. Jane Risdon says:

    Congratulations on turning your life around and good luck with your writing. We all write from experience and that shines through. Long may your new life continue and long may success follow you. Thanks for visiting my author blog too.

    • gman18 says:

      Thank you so much, Jane. I really appreciate those positive comments. It was also my pleasure to visit your great blog too! Have an amazing day.

Leave a Reply

