You Were Equipped With Everything At Birth!

Already Inside YouIt is human nature to sometimes feel that we are lacking in one aspect or another in life.

Whether it is our ability to solve mathematical equations, capacity to hold an intelligent conversation, or confidence to get on the dance floor and strut our stuff, we were all provided with these talents the day we were born.

It is merely up to each and every one of us to put these innate skills into use on a daily basis, and to have the necessary self-esteem to realize that there is nothing we can’t do if we apply ourselves.

I am not claiming that we are all Isaac Newton, JFK, or John Travolta, but my point is that we can do anything we put our minds to, just like those who became famous in their respective fields did, and it only takes practice, determination and enthusiasm.

For me, alcohol, drugs and gambling became my Achilles’ heel, which, upon deep introspection, I learned was caused by a lack of self-esteem and self-confidence on my part.

Consequently, by getting help for my addictions, I have been able to turn things around, which has resulted in my writing, “Jew in Jail,” becoming a motivational & inspirational speaker, and enjoying a healthy and happy lifestyle, realizing that there is nothing I can’t accomplish.

An important note to always remember is that there is absolutely nothing wrong with trying and failing at first, simply because it is part of the learning process.

On the other hand, not even making an attempt at something will only lead to “should’ve, could’ve, would’ve” later on in life, with the uncertainty of what might have been filling one’s mind for years to come.

Put differently, an error of commission is much better than one of omission.

So, remember, you can do and become anything in life.

All it takes is a decision and the desire to try.

Until next time, always reach for the moon, because, even if you miss, you will be among the stars!

About gman18

I came into the world on October 18, 1961. John F. Kennedy was President of the United States. The film West Side Story was released, and would go on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards. Major League Baseball was celebrating Roger Maris of the New York Yankees, who hit a then-record 61 home runs that season. I was an excellent student, although a bit of a class clown too. I spent a majority of my time playing sports, but fell in love with newspapers, which was how I was initially introduced into writing and storytelling. While attending Kingsborough Community College from 1979-1981, I served as editor-in-chief of the school's paper, and then joined the staff at Long Island University's Seawanhaka for my junior and senior years. At L.I.U. where I earned my Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism in 1983, I was also a selected member of Sigma Delta Chi, as well as Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges. My last year in college included an unpaid internship at WCBS-TV, Channel 2 in New York City, where I learned so much about the television business. Upon graduation, I landed a job at the network, starting as a news clerk for The CBS Morning News with Diane Sawyer, and also weekend shifts for The NFL Today with Brent Musburger. After quickly rising in the ranks to producer, my life suddenly went on a downward spiral due to addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling, which ultimately led to nearly six years behind bars for robbery. My time incarcerated gave birth to my first published book, Jew in Jail, which tells my true story of how I finally decided to deal with my addictions and turn my life around, all the while under the toughest conditions imaginable of being a minority in the prison system, forced to fend for myself. Writing Jew in Jail - as I was doing my time - allowed me to become very introspective, and realize that I could help others in similar situations of being an addict and/or living with low self-esteem. Today, I still reside in my hometown of Brooklyn, New York, where I am working on my next book project, continuing to promote Jew in Jail, and always helping other addicts through my motivational and inspirational speeches, and one-on-one consultations.
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Were Equipped With Everything At Birth!

  1. *So very true Gary! *
    I’m a firm believer that we all have *Greatness* inside each and everyone of us! Catherine 🙂

  2. I agree completely Gary. If only more people believed this.

Leave a Reply

