Be Happy In Your Own Skin!

Sunny Face

Live Life To The Fullest!

April is quickly coming to a close, and that can only translate into one thing:  warmer weather is fast approaching!

For me, that means spending time on the beach, enjoying the sun, tranquility, and peace of mind knowing that I am doing something I love, after already doing something else I love first each and every single day – namely, being the best person I can be, as well as helping others achieve this too.

Working hard is great, and provides an invaluable amount of self-esteem and pride.

However, if one does not take the time to enjoy the fruits of ones labor, then all of that hard work will seem like a never-ending cycle, which can quickly lead to resentment, bitterness and unhappiness.

Many of us, whether we choose to accept and admit it or not, have fragile egos and are sensitive, so it doesnt take much to hurt our feelings and cause us to sometimes question our own talents and abilities.

Therefore, I have found that it is very wise to make sure to take a break from my busy schedule to spend some quality time doing what makes me happy, and, very often, it is the little, inexpensive things that do the trick!

Going to the beach, taking my girlfriend out for lunch, watching a baseball game on television, listening to music, or even writing my blog are some of the things that help me stay grounded, focused and content on a daily basis.

Whatever might work for you, I sincerely hope you are doing it, and are living a good quality of life, being happy in your own skin.

After all, it is the only skin we have!

 

 

 

About gman18

I came into the world on October 18, 1961. John F. Kennedy was President of the United States. The film West Side Story was released, and would go on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards. Major League Baseball was celebrating Roger Maris of the New York Yankees, who hit a then-record 61 home runs that season. I was an excellent student, although a bit of a class clown too. I spent a majority of my time playing sports, but fell in love with newspapers, which was how I was initially introduced into writing and storytelling. While attending Kingsborough Community College from 1979-1981, I served as editor-in-chief of the school's paper, and then joined the staff at Long Island University's Seawanhaka for my junior and senior years. At L.I.U. where I earned my Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism in 1983, I was also a selected member of Sigma Delta Chi, as well as Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges. My last year in college included an unpaid internship at WCBS-TV, Channel 2 in New York City, where I learned so much about the television business. Upon graduation, I landed a job at the network, starting as a news clerk for The CBS Morning News with Diane Sawyer, and also weekend shifts for The NFL Today with Brent Musburger. After quickly rising in the ranks to producer, my life suddenly went on a downward spiral due to addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling, which ultimately led to nearly six years behind bars for robbery. My time incarcerated gave birth to my first published book, Jew in Jail, which tells my true story of how I finally decided to deal with my addictions and turn my life around, all the while under the toughest conditions imaginable of being a minority in the prison system, forced to fend for myself. Writing Jew in Jail - as I was doing my time - allowed me to become very introspective, and realize that I could help others in similar situations of being an addict and/or living with low self-esteem. Today, I still reside in my hometown of Brooklyn, New York, where I am working on my next book project, continuing to promote Jew in Jail, and always helping other addicts through my motivational and inspirational speeches, and one-on-one consultations.
Aside | This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Happy In Your Own Skin!

  1. **Happy Weekend Gary! I guess it’s true when they say “Great Minds Think Alike!” I just finished my blog post called “Be Happy To Recover”….about creating your own Happiness! Your so right though, just because we are in recovery, we need to Celebrate it, and create life balance which needs Happiness in the mix! When we were within our addictions, we missed all the truly wonderful things in life that can make us happy, even the smallest of things. Re-Engage in the hobbies and interests we lost along the way. SO important in recovery. Like I tell my recovery friends who are in AA & NA……”Just because you live your life in Recovery,….doesn’t mean the Party is over,….Oh No….It means you’ll be able to REMEMBER what you did LAST NIGHT!!..LOL…Hugs & Blessings from Oregon! *Catherine*xxoo

    • gman18 says:

      Hi Catherine, and thank you for those excellent comments!
      I can always count on you to relate to what I blog about.
      It is important to not only be grateful for our sobriety, but to also celebrate each and every single day by doing things on a daily basis that we used to take for granted.
      By the way, I am really enjoying your great book.
      I find your honesty and candor to be extremely refreshing, and am amazed at how far you have come in your recovery!

Leave a Reply

