You Control Your Own Destiny!

No matter what you have done in your past, the road ahead is all in your hands.

Your future is as bright as you want it to be, because you were born with greatness!

From the moment you wake up in the morning, to the time you lay your head down in bed and go to sleep, you have unlimited potential to do anything and everything in your power in order to be the best person you can be.

You can begin your day by stretching your muscles and then working out your body.

This will provide you with the necessary confidence to realize that the day belongs to you, and there is nothing you cannot accomplish through hard work, dedication and perseverance.

Next, make sure you eat a healthy and hearty breakfast, to give yourself the energy you will need to tackle the rest of your day.

After showering and getting dressed, take one last look at yourself in the mirror, before heading out the door.

What you will see is what everyone else in the world already sees and knows: that you are someone who is self-assured and can handle anything life throws in his or her direction.

You are a winner, and you ooze confidence.

Therefore, always reach for the moon, because, even if you miss, you will be among the stars!

About gman18

I came into the world on October 18, 1961. John F. Kennedy was President of the United States. The film West Side Story was released, and would go on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards. Major League Baseball was celebrating Roger Maris of the New York Yankees, who hit a then-record 61 home runs that season. I was an excellent student, although a bit of a class clown too. I spent a majority of my time playing sports, but fell in love with newspapers, which was how I was initially introduced into writing and storytelling. While attending Kingsborough Community College from 1979-1981, I served as editor-in-chief of the school's paper, and then joined the staff at Long Island University's Seawanhaka for my junior and senior years. At L.I.U. where I earned my Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism in 1983, I was also a selected member of Sigma Delta Chi, as well as Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges. My last year in college included an unpaid internship at WCBS-TV, Channel 2 in New York City, where I learned so much about the television business. Upon graduation, I landed a job at the network, starting as a news clerk for The CBS Morning News with Diane Sawyer, and also weekend shifts for The NFL Today with Brent Musburger. After quickly rising in the ranks to producer, my life suddenly went on a downward spiral due to addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling, which ultimately led to nearly six years behind bars for robbery. My time incarcerated gave birth to my first published book, Jew in Jail, which tells my true story of how I finally decided to deal with my addictions and turn my life around, all the while under the toughest conditions imaginable of being a minority in the prison system, forced to fend for myself. Writing Jew in Jail - as I was doing my time - allowed me to become very introspective, and realize that I could help others in similar situations of being an addict and/or living with low self-esteem. Today, I still reside in my hometown of Brooklyn, New York, where I am working on my next book project, continuing to promote Jew in Jail, and always helping other addicts through my motivational and inspirational speeches, and one-on-one consultations.
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You Control Your Own Destiny!

  1. Gary, Your Self confidence in your Recovery is a Awesome example for all of us in recovery. I’m more then half way through you Fantastic book, and what you endured is beyond words! The only regret I have??….Is having my husband mail my book to you…Why you ask??? He forgot to put Postage on it!!!….lol….It’s on it’s way Monday. I really appreciate your Raw honesty in your writing, and hold nothing back. I wish you much success in your Recovery and Life journey, which we are all on to become THE BEST THAT WE CAN BE! Blessings & Hugs my friend, *Catherine*

    • gman18 says:

      Thank you so much, Catherine. It is because of people like you – role models – that I am able to continue on my path, as well as remain passionate about helping others. You have an amazing story yourself, and I hope you realize how much you can and are teaching others about never giving up in order to reach one’s full potential!

  2. This is something people, myself included, need to constantly be reminded of! So true

    • gman18 says:

      Yes, it certainly is! Thanks for your feedback.

      • Gary…Loving the Book! Almost finished. This post makes me think about my own Legal woe’s, and the worst??….Was sitting in that jail cell waiting to be booked, processed, and as I sat on that cold cement floor thinking to myself, HOW the HELL did I get here??? What a long bottomless pit, when we fall from grace!! Glad those days are behind me now. Wishing you all the Best my friend. Catherine 🙂

  3. gman18 says:

    Hi Catherine. Thank you so much. Yes, I am sure you can relate, judging by what you have already told me regarding your own past experiences. I know you are a very strong woman and have a powerful message for others who may be heading down that same destructive path. There IS a better way, and you definitely are living proof!

Leave a Reply

